Play of the Day 455 (2024-25)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day 455 (2024-25)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

There is a loose ball that results in a tie-up between A-1 and B-1.  After the whistle has sounded, A-1 gets up and throws the ball at B-1.  B-1 retaliates by throwing the ball back at A-1.  

Handle the situation.


A double technical foul should be ruled for intentionally contacting an opponent during a dead ball.  A-1 and B-1 each receive a technical foul and play is resumed at the point of interruption.  Whichever team has the AP arrow will receive a throw-in from the spot nearest the held ball.  If the throw-in is in the frontcourt of the team making the throw-in, it will be from one of the four “magic” spots in the frontcourt.

(References: Rules 10-4-7, 7-5-3)


Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day

About Paul Behr

A former high school basketball coach and a former ABA basketball official. An IAABO-certified basketball official for 43 years and an IAABO Life Member. Currently an active high school basketball official in South Carolina. Interpreter of IAABO Board 403 in South Carolina.

1 thought on “Play of the Day 455 (2024-25)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *