The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.
A-3 catches a pass from A-1. A-3 jumps to attempt a try. A-3 fumbles the ball and returns to the floor. After the ball hits the floor, A-3 recovers the ball and dribbles into the basket for a layup.
Handle the situation.
This play is legal. Player control ended when A-3 fumbled the ball. Since this was a fumble, anyone could recover the ball. Since A-3 had not previously dribbled, when A-3 recovered the ball, this started a new instance of player control for A-3 and A-3 was allowed to start a dribble.
(References: Rules 4-21, 4-15)
Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day
Very Good Play. Yes, and this should be easily interpreted. Thanks!