Play of the Day 442 (2024-25)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day 442 (2024-25)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-1 is attempting to make a throw-in from one of the frontcourt sideline “magic” spots.  The throw-in pass deflects off of A-2’s hand in the frontcourt and goes into the backcourt where it is recovered by A-3.  The Team B coach claims this is a backcourt violation since team control existed during the throw-in and the ball got frontcourt status when it was touched by A-2.

Is the coach correct?


The coach is NOT correct.  Although team control exists during a throw-in, it only exists to adjudicate fouls that may be committed by the throwing team.  In order to have a backcourt violation in this instance, player control must exist in the frontcourt before the backcourt rule can be applied.

(References: Rules 9-9 Note)


Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day

About Paul Behr

A former high school basketball coach and a former ABA basketball official. An IAABO-certified basketball official for 43 years and an IAABO Life Member. Currently an active high school basketball official in South Carolina. Interpreter of IAABO Board 403 in South Carolina.

1 thought on “Play of the Day 442 (2024-25)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *