The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.
A-1 is attempting to make a throw-in from one of the frontcourt sideline “magic” spots. The throw-in pass deflects off of A-2’s hand in the frontcourt and goes into the backcourt where it is recovered by A-3. The Team B coach claims this is a backcourt violation since team control existed during the throw-in and the ball got frontcourt status when it was touched by A-2.
Is the coach correct?
The coach is NOT correct. Although team control exists during a throw-in, it only exists to adjudicate fouls that may be committed by the throwing team. In order to have a backcourt violation in this instance, player control must exist in the frontcourt before the backcourt rule can be applied.
(References: Rules 9-9 Note)
Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day
Very Good Play. Correct and this could easily come up in your game. Thanks!