Play of the Day #294 (2022-23)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #294 (2022-23)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

With time running out, Team A is down by three points.  After a timeout, A-1 pops out behind a screen and launches a three point try.  The horn sounds and the ball passes through the goal.  After this, the coach of Team B runs onto the court screaming that A-1 had traveled.  The officials rule a technical foul on the coach.

Handle the situation.


The technical foul was ruled after the fourth quarter ended.  Since the score is now tied, there will be an overtime.  So, the technical foul has occurred during the intermission between the fourth quarter and the start of the overtime period.  Team A will be awarded two free throws to start the overtime period and will also be awarded the ball for a designated spot throw-in from the division line opposite the table.  

The alternating possession arrow will be set toward Team B’s basket once Team A has the ball at its disposal for the throw-in.  The Team B coach has lost the right to use the coaching box.

(References: Rule 4-19-5d, 10-5-1a, 5-6 Exception 4, 4-3-3b)


Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day

About Paul Behr

A former high school basketball coach and a former ABA basketball official. An IAABO-certified basketball official for 43 years and an IAABO Life Member. Currently an active high school basketball official in South Carolina. Interpreter of IAABO Board 403 in South Carolina.

1 thought on “Play of the Day #294 (2022-23)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *