The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.
Both teams are in the double bonus. During a throw-in, thrower A-1 attempts to pass the ball to A-3. B-3 is in position to intercept the pass. Before B-3 can gain control of the ball, A-3 commits a common foul against B-3.
Handle the situation.
Since the common foul was committed by the throwing team before player control was obtained inbounds, this foul is a team control foul. No free throws will be attempted. The ball will be awarded to Team B at the spot nearest to where the foul occurred.
These kinds of plays occurring during a throw-in require the officials to be vigilant about the correct enforcement of penalties. Late in a close game imposing an incorrect penalty could have a significant impact on the outcome of such game.
(References: Rule 4-19-7)
Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day
Very Good Play. We have to rule this Play correctly. Thanks!