Quiz #341 (2023)

      No Comments on Quiz #341 (2023)

1. A player who is screened within the visual field is expected to avoid contact with the screener by stopping or going around the screener. T-F

2. A jump ball ends:

a. When the ball contacts a non-jumper.
b. When the ball contacts an official.
c. When the ball touches the floor.
d. When the ball touches the basket.
e. When the ball touches the backboard.
f. All of the Above.

3. A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player. T-F

4. Bench Personnel are the following:

a. Substitutes.
b. The Head Coach.
c. Assistant Coaches.
d. Managers
e. Statisticians.
f. All of the Above.

5. A1 is dribbling the ball on the perimeter. B3 and A3 commit a double personal foul in the low post. The ball is taken out of bounds at the:

a. Spot of the foul.
b. Point of Interruption where A1 was dribbling the ball.

Continue reading

Quiz #340 (2023)

      No Comments on Quiz #340 (2023)

1. A player may dribble, fumble and dribble. T-F

2. It is legal for a defender to hold hands and arms in front of the face and body for protection and to absorb force from an imminent charge from an opponent . T-F

3. Excessive Swinging of the arm(s) and elbow(s) without contact on a player is a technical foul. T-F.

4. A screen is a legal action without causing contact that delays or prevents an opponent from reaching a desired position. The screener must have both feet inbounds while screening. T-F.

5. Name four fouls where you would take the ball out of bounds at the point of interruption.


Continue reading

Quiz #339 (2023)

      No Comments on Quiz #339 (2023)

1. The boundary lines  consists of _______ and __________.

2. Boundary lines are a minimum of _________ in width.

3. What is the definition of a legal guarding position.

4. A1 lifts the pivot foot and dribbles. Is this legal. Yes-No.

5. A1 is driving to the basket and B1 contests the play and is vertical. A1 creates the contact on the play.  B1 is not placed at a disadvantage. The Lead official “ no calls” the play.


Continue reading

Quiz #338 (2023)

      No Comments on Quiz #338 (2023)

1. A1 goes up for a shot and gets hit by B1. The ball goes in the basket. The Lead official has no angle on the play and misses the call. A1 curses and points at the Lead official. The official should ignore the gesture because the play was missed. T-F

2. A1 catches a pass in the post. A1 backs down B1 and B1 is vertical while A1 attempts the shot. B1 is in a legal position. T-F.

3. A player may continue to move after gaining a guarding position in the path of an opponent provided they are not moving directly or obliquely toward their opponent when contact occurs. T-F

4. With 15 seconds left in the 2nd period, a common foul is ruled on B2 for a “wrap” that occurs off the ball on A2.  It is the 5th team foul in the period.  The officiating crew mistakenly award Team A the ball at the spot of the foul for a throw-in. Team A attempts an unsuccessful shot to end the period.  When returning to the floor after half time, the referee  is notified by the scorer that Team A was in the bonus for the foul. The error shall be ignored and start the 3rd period as normal. T-F.

5. It is goaltending during a field goal when the ball has a chance to score, after it has touched the back board and while the ball is on its upward flight. T-F


Continue reading

Quiz #337 (2023)

      No Comments on Quiz #337 (2023)

1. A1 throws a pass and B1 deflects the ball. A3 and B3 are going for the ball. A3 pushes B3. Team B is in the bonus. B3 will shoot the bonus. T-F.

2. A1 ends the dribble with one foot on the floor and jumps simultaneously to two feet. A1 does not have a pivot foot. T-F.

3. A4  jumps out of bounds to avoid a “3” second violation. The Lead official rules a violation for going out of bounds for an unauthorized reason. T-F

4. A1 goes up for a lay-up. B1 intentionally fouls A1. A1 is injured on the play. Who will shoot A1’s free throws?

5. A1 attempts a dunks and the ball bounces into the back court. A3 recovers the ball in the back court. The shot clock will have a full reset. T-F


Continue reading