The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.
Neither team is in the bonus. A1 is at the free throw line with the ball at his disposal to attempt a free throw. Before A-1 begins his act of shooting, B1 pushes A2 into the lane. The Lead rules a violation on A2 for stepping into the lane. The Center rules a foul on B1 for pushing A2 into the lane. The officials huddle and decide to clear the lane, penalize the foul and do not penalize the violation. A1 shoots the free throw with no players along the lane and Team A is awarded the ball for a designated spot throw-in on the endline. Were the officials correct?
Continue reading →