Play of the Day #60 (2018-19)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #60 (2018-19)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-1 drives to the basket and is fouled while attempting a try.  The ball is on the ring when A-5 jumps up and contacts the ring but does not touch the ball.  The ball falls through the goal after this.  Handle the situation.

Continue reading

Play of the Day #59 (2018-19)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #59 (2018-19)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

In a state final game while A-6 is at the table waiting to enter the game, it is noticed that A-6 has blood on the uniform jersey.  The official brings this to the attention of the coach.  A-6 removes his jersey at the bench and puts on a different one.  The change of number is reported to the scorer and to an official on the court.  No technical foul is assessed.  Were the officials correct?

Continue reading

Play of the Day #58 (2018-19)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #58 (2018-19)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-1 is attempting a throw-in from the endline in backcourt.  B-1 deflects the throw-in pass.  A-1 pushes B-1 attempting to recover the ball and is whistled for a common foul.  It is the 10th team foul of the half for Team A.

Handle the situation.

Continue reading

Play of the Day #57 (2018-19)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #57 (2018-19)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-1 is dribbling up the court when he is trapped by B-1 and B-2.  The ball comes loose.  A-1 pushes B-1 attempting to recover the ball and is whistled for a common foul.  It is the 7th team foul of the half for Team A.  The official awards a 1-and-1 bonus free throw situation for B-1.  Is the official correct?

Continue reading

Play of the Day #56 (2018-19)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #56 (2018-19)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-1 drives into the lane, jumps and releases a floater toward the basket. A-1 then collides with B-2 before landing on the floor.  The Lead official sounds his whistle and immediately signals a blocking foul.  The Center official also sounds his whistle and immediately signals a player control foul.

Handle the situation.

Continue reading