Play of the Day 454 (2024-25)

      2 Comments on Play of the Day 454 (2024-25)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

Team B scores with 14 seconds remaining in the game and pulls to within 2 points of Team A.  Team A is in no hurry to pick up the ball and only begins the throw-in when there are 5 seconds left.  The ball is inbounded and A-1 is fouled with 1.5 seconds to go.  

How should this situation have been handled?


By rule, the throw-in begins when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in.  In a scoring situation, this would mean that the throw-in count should start within a second or so of the goal.  The fact that the team has not picked up the ball is not relevant.  If Team A has not released the  ball on a throw-in pass before 5 seconds have elapsed, a violation should be ruled.

If there is an unusual circumstance, such as the ball bouncing away and not being readily available to begin the throw-in, the clock should be stopped until the ball is available.  Of course, this would necessitate the ball being handled by the officials as they would after any stoppage of play.

(References: Rules 7-6-1)


Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day

About Paul Behr

A former high school basketball coach and a former ABA basketball official. An IAABO-certified basketball official for 43 years and an IAABO Life Member. Currently an active high school basketball official in South Carolina. Interpreter of IAABO Board 403 in South Carolina.

2 thoughts on “Play of the Day 454 (2024-25)

  1. THOMAS HANBACH

    Very Good Play. Correct. Team A tried to gain advantage by letting the clock run down before they
    put the ball in play. Officials should have ruled this correctly at the proper time, and could make a
    big difference in the Game. Thanks!

    Reply
  2. Brian Vance

    BUT, didn’t the scoring team pick up the ball and throw it to the ref? You can’t start a count if that happens, right?

    Reply

Leave a Reply to THOMAS HANBACH Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *